::: Welcome ::

Future LRT and MRT in KL

17 September, 2009 | Written by Patchay at 6:05 PM in

Syarikat Prasarana Negara Bhd (SPNB), the state-owned public transport operator, plans to spend up to RM7 billion to extend 2 light rail transit (LRT) lines in Kuala Lumpur.

The 2 extension lines will cover a total of 34.7km and is due to start early 2010 and fully completed by end of 2012.

In line with the extension of LRT lines, SPNB will also embark on fleet expansion.

It was also reported that the Kota Damansara - Cheras Line will begin construction as early as 2011 and completing in 2014.

*** *** ***


  • Current average daily passenger volume is 180,000.

  • The preferred alignment will begin from the Kelana Jaya station,

  • passing through 13 new stations,

  • including an interchange with Subang Jaya KTM commuter station,

  • before ending at Putra Heights interchange with Ampang/Sri Petaling Line

  • covering a total of 17km.

  • Fleet expansion: 35 more train sets of 4 cars per set configuration.

*** *** ***


  • Current average daily passenger volume is 170,000.

  • The preferred alignment will begin from the Sri Petaling station,

  • passing through 13 new stations,

  • before ending at Putra Heights interchange with Kelana Jaya Line,

  • covering a total of 17.7km.

  • Fleet expansion: 13 more train sets of 6 cars per set configuration.

*** *** ***


  • The proposed new LRT line from Kota Damansara to Cheras, measuring 42km, will be upgraded to a Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) system because of high population density.

  • A possible extension from Kota Damansara to Sungai Buloh KTM.

The proposed alignment showed the new line running from Kota Damansara along Persiaran Surian to the Damansara-Puchong Expressway and then heading towards the city centre along the Sprint Expressway, through Bangsar Baru and Jalan Bangsar.

It will then run parallel to the existing Kelana Jaya Line to Nu Sentral in KL Sentral, then Pasar Seni and Masjid Jamek before heading to the Golden Triangle along Jalan Raja Chulan.

The route will then pass Pasar Rakyat in Bukit Bintang and then Jalan Tun Razak where it will join Jalan Cheras.

It will continue along the road and the Cheras-Kajang Expressway to the Balakong interchange near Cheras Batu 11.

There will be around 30 stations along the line, including a few interchange stations. Below is an indication of the proposed alignment:

1. Kota Damansara - Segi College @
2. Persiaran Surian
3. Mutiara Damansara - Ikea/Ikano/The Curve/Tesco
4. Bandar Utama - 1 Utama LDP
5. Taman Tun Dr Ismail - Pizza Hut/Jalan Burhanuddin Helmi
6. Sprint Highway - Phileo Damansara
7. Pusat Bandar Damansara - HelpUCollege/future Damansara City
8. Jalan Maarof - Bangsar Shopping Centre
9. Jalan Telawi - Bangsar Village
10. Bangsar - Dataran Maybank (LRT - KJ Line)
11. Nu Sentral (LRT - KJ Line, Monorail)
12. Pasar Seni South (LRT - KJ Line)
13. Masjid Jamek (LRT - KJ Line, LRT - Ampang Line)
14. Bukit Nanas - Jalan Raja Chulan
15. Pavilion KL
16. Sungei Wang/Bukit Bintang (Monorail)
17. Jalan Pudu - Berjaya Times Square
18. Bulatan Pudu - Pudu Pasar/Police Station/Ezone Park
19. Taman Maluri/Miharja (LRT - Ampang Line)
20. Jalan Cheras Batu 4 - Stadium Badminton
21. Taman Midah Cheras Roundabout - Tesco Extra Cheras
22. Taman Segar - Cheras Leisure Mall
23. Taman Connaught - Plaza Phoenix
24. Cheras Batu 9 - Kampung Sungai Raya
25. Kampung Batu 11 - Grand Saga Toll
26. Balakong - AEON Cheras Selatan
27. Bandar Tun Hussein Onn @
(bold) = shopping malls; (@) possible extension to Sungei Buloh KTM station and Mines Resort City in Seri Kembangan

Other rail networks mooted for Klang Valley include a possible extension of KL Monorail, extension of KLIA Express to the proposed permanent LCCT, revival of Putrajaya and Bandar Sunway Monorail, Shah Alam Monorail, coastal KL - JB high-speed train and a proposed integrated network connecting urban centres within Selangor by the Pakatan Rakyat government.

Reference: Transit.org, SkyscraperCity Malaysia, SPNB, DoR, MoT, LRTextension.com


  1. iyouwe.info on September 18, 2009 3:06 PM

    good post! nanged u! No NUDE in Malaysia? nang this to read more, thanks! nang me!

  2. Viya on September 18, 2009 3:54 PM

    sound like good news. but, hope they spend our tax payer money wisely...

  3. Arib Ismail on September 24, 2009 12:45 AM

    Taman Maluri/Miharja also included in this project :)
    I love KL!!!


  4. Shelley on January 22, 2010 5:37 PM

    Wow, if there really is a line serving Damansara Perdana, that would be absolutely SUPERB. How accurate/credible is this info? Would love to hear from you!

  5. Patchay on January 23, 2010 6:16 PM

    >>> Shelly
    The line would probably pass Mutiara Damansara. Not too sure where exactly. But there has been some changes to the plans and will be revealed later in the 2Q i think.

  6. Fuel Filter Replacement Fort Worth on August 12, 2011 8:06 PM

    This article is excellent. Very well written and well described. I got many unknown information from this site.

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Latest Posts





From Jun'10 to 31 Dec'13: 861,805

Locations of Visitors to this Site

Guest(s) Currently Online

Breast and Cervical Cancer Awareness Campaign at National Cancer Society Malaysia

Global Voices: The World is Talking, Are You Listening?